Tax & Accounting Blog

Croatia to Become 28th EU Member State

Indirect Tax, ONESOURCE February 25, 2013

Croatia is set to become the 28th member state of the European Union in a few months on 1 July 2013. The Treaty of Croatia’s Accession to the European Union was signed in Brussels on 9 December 2011. As of 21 February of this year 24 states have ratified Croatia’s Treaty, with Germany, Slovenia and Denmark still remaining. Once the Treaty is ratified by all Member States, Croatia’s membership in the European Union will be formalized as of 1 July 2013.