

Hurricane Maria Federally Declared Disaster Areas

Taxpayers affected by a federally declared disaster are eligible for special tax relief provisions.

U.S. Virgin Islands

Hurricane Maria was declared a major disaster on 9/20/17, for the incident period beginning 9/16/17 (FEMA release DR-4340; IRS release VI-2017-02). St. Croix, St. John and St. Thomas have been designated as in the federally declared disaster area, as of 9/22/17.

Updates to the list can be found at https://www.fema.gov/disaster/4340

Puerto Rico

Hurricane Maria was declared a major disaster on 9/20/17, for the incident period beginning 9/17/17 (FEMA release DR-4339; IRS release PR-2017-02). All 78 municipalities have been designated as in the federally declared disaster area, as of 9/22/17.

Updates to the list can be found at https://www.fema.gov/disaster/4339

