What is the TPP Trade Agreement?

The TPP is the Trans-Pacific Partnership agreement and considered one of the most ambitious free trade agreements ever signed. The TPP is a multilateral deal with 12 participants (Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, United States and Vietnam) and is being considered the biggest trade deal the world has seen with trade rules covering nearly 40 percent of the world economy and a collective population of about 800 million.